DBSK @ the 2008 MKMF

Posted: November 15, 2008 in DBSK in Korea
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The 2008 MKMF was held a while ago and I wasn’t able to watch the live streaming that’s why I just went to Soompi and YouTube to find out news on what happened to this awards show.

DBSK was nominated for a lot of awards and tonight, they were able to bring home five awards out of these nominations, one of which is the ALBUM OF THE YEAR award that is one of the three daesangs/major awards given by MKMF.

I will be a hypocrite if I say that I wasn’t disappointed of DBSK not winning all the three daesangs for MKMF. That is also the reason why I shamelessly cried when I found out that they only got one out of the three awards (Album of the Year, Song of the Year, and Artist of the Year). Frankly, I don’t care much about the Song of the Year award but I really, really wanted DBSK to win the Artist of the Year award. That award just sounds so BIG, isn’t it?

But after thinking of the circumstances they were in, I would say that maybe it would be quite unfair for the other artists if DBSK did win all the daesangs. I’m not saying that they don’t deserve it but come to think of it, they only conducted activities in Korea two months ago. For practically the whole year, they were in Japan trying to make a name there. I just think that it would be quite unfair for the other artists who never left Korea if DBSK grabbed all the daesangs while being OUTSIDE of Korea for the majority of the year.

I also realized that the daesang they got, which is Album of the Year, is also a big one especially considering that they only released their album in the later part of the year. If I’m not mistaken, the winner of the Album of the Year award is the artist who has the highest album sales for the year. Keeping this in mind, I couldn’t be any more proud of DBSK. I think winning this award is already a feat. Not a lot of artist can achieve a success as big as this in just a span of two months. This only proves how amazing DBSK is. I guess winning the Album of the Year award could already compensate for them not winning the other two daesangs. I think we shouldn’t be disappointed anymore because this is more than anything we could ask for. So, let’s just be happy for this is another achievement for the boys, ok? :D

The other awards DBSK won are the following:

Best Auction Style (what is this award?)

Mobile Popularity

Auction Netizen’s Choice (again, what is this?)

Overseas Viewer’s Choice

Also, I would like to congratulate Wondergirls for winning Song of the Year and BigBang for winning Artist of the Year. In as much as I would have wanted DBSK to win these awards, I know that these two groups deserved them, too. =)

Anyway, here are some videos of DBSK at the 2008 MKMF:

SHINEE DANCES TO RISING SUN

JaeJoong was attentively watching the short performance while Changmin and Yunho were so into it and they’re even dancing and singing with it. I guess they’re so happy watching their song being perfomed by their dongsaengs.

INTRO – MY ADDICTION

This intro was AWESOME. Call me a drama queen or whatever but I also got teary-eyed watching this clip. You may be wondering why since it’s not a drama scene or whatnot but the reason why I almost cried is because watching them perform a bit of their old songs made me remember the past years. They really have grown so much and they have already accomplished a lot of things. I wasn’t there when they debuted since I got into them just recently but I can see their GROWTH, MATURITY, and SUCCESS that is the result of their hard work through the years. As a fan, words can’t even express how PROUD I am of the Dong Bang boys. :D

MIROTIC PERFORMANCE

JaeJoong wearing an unbuttoned top = DEATH OF ME.

I really don’t understand why he’s doing this to me. Every time I see him LIKE THAT, I keep forgetting how to breathe. KIM JAEJOONG, YOU ARE SERIOUSLY TORTURING ME!

Now I’m really confused if I like them performing HALF-NAKED or FULLY COVERED.

I guess it’s not bad if I like both, right? LOL.

WRONG NUMBER PERFORMANCE

It was a good performance but I won’t comment much on this performance since I like their performance on Music Core more than this one, which I’ll try to post later after this. But I’d like to take this chance to ask WHAT THE HECK HAPPENED TO YOOCHUN’S HAIR? It’s back to his HUG days style! Ah, forget that I even asked what happened. I am MORE THAN SURE that his stylist has something to do with it. :\ I guess I’ll just stop commenting on Yoochun’s hair from now on because I think I’m beginning to sound too evil since I always curse his stylist.

DBSK WINNING THE ALBUM OF THE YEAR AWARD

I hate to say this but I can’t help but notice that there is something different with the members’ expressions when they received the award. Why do I feel like they’re not genuinely happy? It may just be my weird observation again but I swear their faces sent a different message to me – something that is not anywhere near pure happiness. Personally, I think their smiles are not the type of smiles I would have wanted to see on their faces after winning such an award. I like to think that Changmin’s tears are tears of joy but something inside of me tells me that maybe – just maybe – the tears he shed were not of that kind. No, I’m not saying that the members were showing signs of sourgraping or whatnot but I just think their body language showed a hint of disappointment. And that’s totally ok, if you ask me. After all, who would want to lose in anything, right? Besides, I’m sure that if ever my observations are correct, their disappointment is actually stemming from a feeling of worry. Was this the price they have to pay for leaving Korea for a long time? Is this a sign that they don’t hold much ‘power’ in Korea anymore like they used to have before they left for Japan? Don’t they have the ability to dominate the Korean music industry again? These are a few possible questions that were probably playing on the members’ minds because of tonight’s results. Well, that’s just my two cents worth. It’s also possible that I’m just over analyzing things and that they’re really happy when they accepted the award. Either way, I just hope the boys are feeling ok. There are still a lot of awards shows to come so there’s still a chance of a repeat of DBSK’s legendary year known as 2006. And no matter what happens, DBSK will always be DBSK. :)

Again, congrats to the boys and keep up the GREAT work. We’re always behind you no matter what. :D

[Video Credit: eternalmerkamoon4]

Comments
  1. Jeannie says:

    SHINee Dancing to Rising Sun –> lol they are such fan boys but I can see that they did their hyungs proud.

    My Addiction –> That was pretty cool … They all had their little solo moments..

    Mirotic & Wrong Number perfs –> I couldnt believe it when Mirotic started out all instrumental… Its weird I was actually thinking about what it would sound like a few weeks ago. Both perfs were awesome…

    Now what i really want to touch on is DBSK in Korea.

    I had the opportunity to visit Korea (all the way from Canada) for a month this summer. To be honest with you, they have taken a really big hit for being in Japan if I had to give my opinion. All I heard over there in the stores and on the radio were Big Bang … and others but mostly Big Bang. I heard “O” played ONCE thats it.. Only one DBSK song while I was out and around at Dongdaemun Market… I paused and had a moment while my friend was telling me to hurry up.. I didn’t care..

    When i first started to read what you had put under the award video about their unhappiness I was like “wtf” but when you explained why you had said that I totally agree with you. Going to Japan has hit them big but they still have many fans (I experienced it because I had the most amazing time at SM LIVE 08 in Seoul Stadium while I was there). They will always be DBSK and to me they will always be the most amazing band ever.

    They need to stay in Korea before they are deemed ‘old news’ because all though a bunch of stores sell their products it didn’t seem that they were alive over there at all when I was there. And here I was going over there thinking they were still on top. I hope that they rise to the top again because I missed not hearing them everywhere I went. Its time to come home and stay home for a while boys!! Big Bang seems to be taking over and although I like Big Bang… I don’t think DBSK has had their full run yet and they deserve more <3

  2. Jeannie says:

    PS. CONGRATS ON THE AWARDS THEY DID RECIEVE <3 HWAITING!

  3. Anonymous says:

    i love your blog. but regarding them winning that award. its nothing negative whatsoever. yunho’s speech was full of thanks and love. he’s never sounded more passionate. and even you said so, not just any band can receive such recognition after 2 months after their comeback.

  4. changmin_maniac says:

    whatever it is, DBSK,hwaiting! [i watched MKMF live with GomTV but i didnt understand Korean so i just ..i just..sit ..blur..haha

  5. SilentPixie says:

    All I have to say is that I love these boys. (well it may not be the only thing I have to say after all…) Their performances amazed me yet again, especially when I started to hear Mirotic in instrumental.

    Wrong Number was an amazing performance… and YES I had a nosebleed and felt lightheaded when I sae my kamo butt and JAE.. OMONA! Jae just KILLED me yo! ^O^/ Never had I seen such a HOT angel (Jae)… *pervy thoughts* …lol

    Min, as I always thought, was the strong one in the group. When I first saw a fancam of him and he CRIED in PUBLIC… my heart just shattered into a million pieces. I just wanted to hug him and be there for him (too bad I couldn’t). I also saw my kamo butt crying. He’s usually always smiling and when I saw him sad and crying I couldn’t help but cry. I had a teddy next to me and I hugged it so hard and pretended it was Su and Min… at times like those I really wish I could be there for them. I felt so helpless seeing them like that. When I saw this vid, where Min cries, I saw his eyes at 1:54 and I cried so hard. Now his sad, teary eyes are stuck in my head and it makes me want to get on a plane, go to his house, and hug him as tight as I can. I guess I’m still in schock because of how he just brokedown.

    I do agree with you on the not so genuine smiles. I really think they deserved all the daesangs… but that’s just the crazy DBSK fan girl in me talking. The mature, more conscious side of me says that BB did deserve the award. I mean they were in Korea the whole time and DBSK was in Japan for more than half the year. I do hope that DBSK stays in Korea for a while cuz then they will really take a big hit to their popularity.

    I did hear rumors that Big East fans were complaining that DBSK was in Korea for too long… and it was only 2 months. I don’t know if they were true or not, but if they WERE true… Big East… C’mon! They’ve been in Japan for almost 2 years and just because they leave to their native land for 2 months… ur complaining?!?!??! That’s just wrong. Now don’t get me wrong, I would love to have DBSK here in the U.S for a whole 2 years too, but they have to promote their music in Korea too! Maybe, *praying with all my heart*, DBSK WILL come to the States and promote their music here. I’ll be happy forever… untill the day I die, because I got to see them.

    I love how SHINee rendered tribute to their hyungs. DBSK looked so proud… ^_^ They really are their biggest fan boys! lol

    @Jeannie: OMO! I’m so happy for u that u actually went to Korea!! ^_^ I would love to go there someday. And LUCKY u went to the concert! hehe…

    I really want to see pix of this whole show. I know people will be uploading pics soon so YAY! lol Now we just support DBSK, like we always have, and wait for Golden Disk Awards!!!!

    DBSK will ALWAYS be number one in my heart… “I don’t care what everybody saaaayyys”… *wink wink*

  6. Viki says:

    Omg i am just so proud of them! I am literally crying right now! They’ve grown so much!

    And they totally deserve the awards, especially the Album of the Year…’cause MIROTIC is the best album I’ve ever heard!

  7. lovetohateme says:

    @ Jeannie: thank you for sharing your experience in Korea. i envy you for being able to see the boys perform live at a concert. i wish i could do that, too. :D

    like what you have said, their long stay in Japan really had an effect on their career in Korea. it may have earned them so much recognition and popularity in Japan but we can’t deny that their long absence in Korea somehow made their popularity in their homeland a bit “toned down”. the addition of so many other bands did not help their cause, either. i’m not saying that DBSK isn’t popular anymore because i would be aTOTAL LIAR if i say that. i mean, they are already legends in the Korean Music industry at a very young age and i guess nobody can equal the kind of achievements that they’ve accomplished so far. but the fact still remains that everything has changed and the competition got tougher since the last time they were in Korea. i just think the boys are not used to this change and are still in the process of adjusting. like you, i also think they have to stay in Korea for a longer time so as to re-establish their dominance and to eliminate any insecruties they may have after being away for almost two years.

    but like what i have said, DBSK will always be DBSK. they’ve already made a mark in the Asian music industry and had already proven themselves not just in Korea and Japan but in the whole of Asia as well (or even the whole WORLD). awards like these are just for recognition but i believe that what is most important is the fact that they are loved and supported by many fans no matter what happens and that they were able to make a difference in a lot of ways through their music. :D

    @ Anoymous: thank you for reading my blog! :D i respect your opinion if you don’t see anything negative about the acceptance of the award. like what i have said, i sometimes have a weird habit of overanalyzing things so maybe it’s just me who sees it quite in a negative way. but it’s good that there are people like you who see things in a positive way, which neutralizes people like me who tend to see the contrary. hahaha.

    @ changmin_maniac: i was trying to watch it, too but it kept on lagging so i gave up. i don’t have much patience for that. LOL.

    @ SilentPixie: well, IF BigEast really said that the boys were away for too long when in fact it was only 2 months, then i guess Cassiopeia should have started a war with SM and AVEX a long time ago. i mean, 2 months is nothing compared to the 1 year and 7 months of waiting that Korean Cassies had to endure. i seriously think they don’t have the right to complain. fans should learn to give and take because if they keep on demanding like that, the boys will be the ones who will suffer in the end since they will be forced to please both fans by tiring themselves on going back and forth between Korea and Japan.

  8. min says:

    ^
    ^
    ^
    love this answer

    i just read this topic after jaejoon best& worst….

    wanna say this topic is that’s i think straightforwardly thought my heart & I think so…”I think their smiles are not the type of smiles” lovely word….

    even so DBSK wins again in my heart 555
    DBSK fighting
    DBSK fighting
    DBSK fighting

    [ sorry for my bad english again T-T ]
    thank you

  9. Joanna says:

    I totally agree with you on their acceptance of the award about not being geniunely happy. To be perfectly honest, Changmin never ever cries, I really think, his were tears of relief that they had won something (i.e. important ones like the daesangs; I know they got other ones too, but most people would agree that the daesangs are the highlight).

    I think the fans really thought they’d win all three daesangs and this type of anticipation made the boys feel that way too. I don’t think they are the type to go into an award show thinking they would win everything but I think it would be a lie to say that they hadn’t dreamed of sweeping all daesangs like they did in 2006 to fully establish themselves as Korea’s finest.

    Mostly I think the boys look disappointed because although they’re definitely without a doubt the largest and most popular band in Asia right now, the turf they care most about succeeding in is Korea.

  10. Joanna says:

    Edit: When I said Changmin was relieved that they had won something, I meant: he was glad their hardwork paid off enough to win an award.

  11. Rach says:

    In my opinion, I think the boys are genuinely happy that they won Album of the Year (though as a fan, I was hoping they would win all 3 daesangs!!). To me, Changmin’s tears are a mixture of disappointment and happiness, BUT they are mostly tears of relief. Of course the boys were hoping that they could win Artist of the Year, but mostly I think all the members were more worried about their fans’ responses to their comeback after being away from Korea for such a long period of time (especially since they changed their image from “cute” to “sexy” with the new album) and whether there is still a place for them in the Korean music industry (specially with the debuts of so many new groups and whatnot). And this Award confirms that DBSK is still very much loved by their fans in Korea and still is a major player within the industry. So when they heard their name being called out, they were ecstatic and relieved at the same time =)

    ps: LOVE your blog btw! =D I just happened to stumble across your blog ^^ Am a HUGE DBSK fan as well (and am biased towards JaeJoong too haha.. ^^)

  12. lovetohateme says:

    @ min: thanks!

    @ Joanna and Rach: well, changmin said in an interview that the tears he cried were tears of joy. although i still have some doubts (gosh, i can be so negative sometimes. hahaha) i would just believe his statement. that’s a lot easier than believing that he was not happy. hahaha.

  13. SilentPixie says:

    @Cla: I agree. Fans really don’t have that much power in saying.. “well we want to keep them longere cuz u guys kept them for almost 2 years”. I would really hate to see Cassies and BigEast fighting for DBSK. We’re all rooting for the same band here.. why would they fight? Then again, BE got used to seeing DBSK and I guess it was like taking a baby’s bottle away from them while he was drinking it. It was hard to say Bye, so to speak, and have to endure not seeing them for a long time. Cassies had to endure that too, having to NOT see DBSK live for such a long time. I just hope the rumors weren’t true and that Cassies and BE can play fair.

    I agree with Joanna too. SInce their native home is Korea, they want to have the respect and recognition from there first. I just think they should promote more in Korea for a while. Japan can wait a tad bit longer to get them back. Didn’t DBSK perform at some show in Japan already? I saw a vif on YT so yea… they’re already going back and forth and it must be ubber tiring. I just hope they don’t stress themselves too much and end up in a hospital. All I want is to see them perform in Korea for a long time… then they can go to Japan and Thailand and China and wherever else they’re wanted….^_^

  14. Lainey says:

    Hey, they didnt win best artist but rather best album. best artist went to big bang. ):

  15. lovetohateme says:

    ^^ whoops, sorry. i got the title for the last video wrong. but i do know that they didn’t win artist of the year. thanks for reminding me anyway. i changed it already. =)

  16. fara says:

    what?they are losing popularity??
    well..i dont care what they say, im in love with u
    they tried to pull me away..well they can never do..

    dbsk 4ever <3

  17. lovetohateme says:

    ^^ not exactly “losing”. i guess fans just got interested in some other groups aside from them unlike before where their full attention is with dbsk alone.

Leave a Reply

